News - BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2019 Nominations

The nominees for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2019 have been announced...

Press Release

Now in its 20th year, this year’s ceremony, presented by Radio 2's Mark Radcliffe, will take place at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester on Wednesday 16th October 2019 as part of the Manchester Folk Festival. 

Mark Radcliffe says: “I'm really chuffed to be hosting the Radio 2 Folk Awards on home turf in Manchester this year. It's also great to be part of the Manchester Folk Festival which seems to be going from strength to strength. I can promise you that there will be excitement aplenty on the night plus the very best live music from artists established and emerging on the healthier than ever British folk scene.”

A highlight of the folk music calendar, the Radio 2 Folk Awards celebrates the UK’s thriving folk music scene and serves to raise the profile of this much loved musical genre. The event showcases and celebrates the best folk, roots and acoustic music and features live performances by the very best acts. The evening will welcome an array of special guests as well as performances from new and established artists including legendary Irish group Dervish, Welsh-Senegalese duo Catrin Finch and Seckou Keita and Edward II, Anglo-Caribbean fusioneers from Manchester.

Dervish will also receive a Lifetime Achievement Award at the ceremony. The band have been bringing Irish traditional music to the world for 30 years, and have played at festivals across the globe - from Rock In Rio to Glastonbury. The band features some of Ireland’s finest traditional musicians, and is fronted by one of the country’s best known singers, Cathy Jordan.

Shane Mitchell from Dervish says: “We are thrilled and so delighted to be receiving this very special honour at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, particularly as this is the 30th anniversary of the band.”

Dervish are celebrating their anniversary with an album called The Great Irish Songbook, which features performances by a remarkable array of guest vocalists. The album will premiere with a special concert involving Imelda May, David Gray, Kate Rusby and actor Brendan Gleeson at the London Palladium on Thursday 19th September.

Image & info - BBC

The nominees for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2019 are as follows:

Folk Singer of the Year
• Gwilym Bowen Rhys
• Lisa O'Neill
• Olivia Chaney
• Ríoghnach Connolly

Best Duo or Group
• Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita
• Stick in the Wheel
• The Breath
• The Rheingans Sisters

The Horizon Award
• Brìghde Chaimbeul
• Kinnaris Quintet
• Kitty Macfarlane
• The Trials Of Cato

Best Traditional Track
• Factory Girl by Lisa O'Neill ft. Radie Peat
• Ffoles Llantrisant by VRï
• The Foggy Dew by Ye Vagabonds
• The Reedcutter's Daughter by Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith

Best Original Track
• Blackbird by Lisa O'Neill
• I Burn But I Am Not Consumed by Karine Polwart
• Spells Out by Kathryn Tickell & The Darkening
• Scapa Flow 1919 by Kris Drever

Best Album
• Ancora by Flook
• Heard a Long Gone Song by Lisa O’Neill
• Hide and Hair by The Trials of Cato
• Soar by Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita

Musician of the Year
• Jenn Butterworth
• Mohsen Amini
• Sam Sweeney
• Seckou Keita

This year, the award for Best Album will be chosen by Radio 2 listeners. Voting is now open via and closes on Friday 9th August 2019 at midnight. Jo Whiley will play a track from all four nominated albums between Monday 5 August and Thursday 8 August on her Radio 2 show (7pm-9pm).
Powered by Blogger.