News - Opera Highlights


Scottish Opera’s much-loved Opera Highlights hits the high road next February with a brand-new show as four singers and a pianist journey to 18 venues across Scotland from Ayrshire to the Western Isles...

Press Release

Sara Brodie directs a programme of works by composers from across the centuries, from Handel and Gluck, to Mozart, Verdi, Britten and Bernstein, carefully curated by Scottish Opera’s Head of Music Derek Clark. Scottish Opera Emerging Artist 2018/19 soprano Lucy Anderson, who sang the role of Countess Ceprano in the Company’s 2018 revival of Rigoletto; mezzo-soprano Heather Ireson; tenor Tom Smith and baritone Harry Thatcher join Music Director/Pianist Elizabeth Rowe to bring to life some of opera’s best-known arias alongside hidden gems and forgotten favourites.

Director Sara Brodie said: ‘Opera Highlights 2019 offers a dazzling array of operatic hits from Wagner to Gilbert and Sullivan. We promise an evening of frivolities, folly and flirtation as our singers take you to the depths of the underworld, Paris at dawn, a Viennese masked ball and a tryst by the Thames. Four erstwhile travellers journey the seas of love and back again, in scenes of picaresque torment and delight, to warm your hearts on a chilly night.’ Scottish Opera General Director, Alex Reedijk, said: ‘Following the tremendous success of our 17-date Autumn Opera Highlights tour, we are greatly looking forward to visiting 18 smaller and rural venues in the Spring. This new, pint-sized production is a celebration of opera and the accomplished creative team will no doubt bring out the best in this talented cast, as they journey around Scotland from Barra to Boat of Garten.’

Find out more and book tickets on the Scottish Opera Website

Here's a taster of their autumn 2018 show.




This tour is supported by The Friends of Scottish Opera, the JTH Charitable Trust and the Scottish Opera Endowment Trust.

Cast and Creative Team

Soprano Lucy Anderson*
Mezzo-soprano Heather Ireson
Tenor Tom Smith
Baritone Harry Thatcher
Music Director/Pianist Elizabeth Rowe
Director Sara Brodie

*The Robertson Trust Scottish Opera Emerging Artist

Performance Diary

Village Theatre, East Kilbride - Tue 5 Feb, 7.30pm
Strathmiglo Village Hall, Strathmiglo - Thu 7 Feb, 7.30pm
Cumbernauld Theatre, Cumbernauld - Sat 9 Feb, 7.30pm
Craignish Village Hall, Ardfern - Tue 12 Feb, 7.30pm
Northbay Hall, Barra - Thu 14 Feb, 7.30pm
Liniclate School, Benbecula - Sat 16 Feb, 7.30pm
Tarbert Village Hall, Harris - Tue 19 Feb, 7.30pm
Gairloch Community Hall, Gairloch - Thu 21 Feb, 7.30pm
Ardross Community Hall, Ardross - Sat 23 Feb, 7.30pm
Volunteer Hall, Duns - Tue 26 Feb, 7.30pm
Blairgowrie Town Hall, Blairgowrie - Thu 28 Feb, 7.30pm
Maybole Town Hall, Maybole - Sat 2 Mar, 7.30pm
Durness Village Hall, Durness - Tue 5 Mar, 7.30pm
Boat of Garten Community Hall, Boat of Garten - Thu 7 Mar, 7.30pm
Deeside Theatre, Aboyne - Sat 9 Mar, 7.30pm
Whiting Bay Village Hall, Isle of Arran - Tue 12 Mar, 7.30pm
Victoria Hall, Dunblane - Thu 14 Mar, 7.30pm
The Wynd Auditorium at The Spires, Paisley - Sat 16 Mar, 7.30pm