News - Return of The Damned

Ten years since the release of their last studio recordings, legendary UK punks The Damned return with a new album, Evil Spirits, due for release on 13th April...

The band headed back to the studio last October in Brooklyn, NY with famed producer Tony Visconti who, for over five decades, has produced some of the world’s most influential artists and their greatest albums (David Bowie, T.Rex, Morrissey, U2, The Stranglers, Iggy Pop and Thin Lizzy). On engineer duties was four time Grammy-winning producer/engineer/mixer Kevin Kline, who has also worked with David Bowie and has spent several decades compiling an impressive list of credentials that includes premier artists such as Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello, Burt Bacharach, Bryan Ferry and Brandon Flowers.

The band said of working with Visconti, “We’ve never been predictable and well, neither has Tony. There will be a measure of experimentation and we know he’ll do his best to artistically challenge us. He’s been at the top of our producer list since we first started thinking about recording the album - dream come true he’s on-board!”

This album also saw a change in The Damned’s line-up as the band announced the departure of bassist Stu West before recording started. “We had a great time with Stu on this long journey. We have infinite respect for him and are forever grateful for his contributions to The Damned. As a result of this mutual understanding, we respect his decision, support him wholeheartedly and wish him the best of luck and success."

Taking his place for Evil Spirits is their former bass player Paul Gray (Eddie and The Hot Rods/Johnny Thunders) who was an essential part of The Damned during the 80s and played bass on acclaimed Damned albums “The Black Album” and “Strawberries.”

While The Damned’s 40 year journey has been challenging, rewarding and shocking at best, they continue to reign as punk’s original connoisseurs and feel very positive about what lies ahead in the future. The evidence will be heard on their new album and in venues worldwide as the blitz continues on their 'Evil Spirits Tour', set to rock venues through out the UK in January 2018

Listen to the first single from the album

Track Listing

1. Standing On The Edge Of Tomorrow
2. Devil In Disguise
3. We’re So Nice
4. Look Left
5. Evil Spirits
6. Shadow Evocation
7. Sonar Deceit
8. Procrastination
9. Daily Liar
10. I Don’t Care
Tour dates are as follows

26 January Newcastle O2 Academy
27 January Dundee Caird Hall
28 January Glasgow O2 Academy
30 January Leeds O2 Academy Leeds
31 January Manchester Academy 1
1 February Birmingham O2 Academy
3 February Leicester O2 Academy
4 February Nottingham Rock City
6 February Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall
7 February Southend Cliffs Pavilion
9 February Cardiff Great Hall
10 February Bristol O2 Academy
11 February Bournemouth O2 Academy
13 February Southampton O2 Guildhall
14 February Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion
17 February London O2 Forum

Image - (c) Steve Gullick 2018

Powered by Blogger.