News - Scots Trad Music Award Shortlist

Shortlisted nominations for the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards 2017 were announced this week. Here's how to vote for your winners...

Heralded as the most prestigious award ceremony in the traditional music calendar, sixteen awards will be handed out during a glitzy award ceremony on Saturday 2nd December, at Paisley’s Lagoon Centre as Paisley bids for UK City of Culture 2021. Voting for the shortlisted acts is open until 24 November and votes can be cast online via 

The Album of the Year (sponsored by Birnam CD) is one of the most sought-after awards and competition is stiff this year, with 10 nominees all vying for the top spot including Elephant Sessions, Mànran, and Ímar, alongside Ryan Young who last year won the Up and Coming Artist of the Year award.

Oban Live and the Killin Music Festival are among the nominees for the Event of the Year category (sponsored by VisitScotland), while Community Project of the Year (sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust) nods to Tiree Songbook and EPL Events, among others.

Elephant Sessions, Ímar, Tide Lines and Skippinish make up the shortlist for Live Act of the Year (sponsored by Greentrax), and Gnoss, Hò-rò, Heron Valley, Inyal and Brighde Chaimbeul all compete for the Up and Coming Artist of the Year (sponsored by the Royal Scottish Conservatoire) category.

The awards night itself will be jam-packed with live performances from The Shee Big Band, who are roping in honorary Shees from throughout their eleven years to join them on stage, as well as performances from nominees Elephant Sessions (pictured above) and Siobhan Miller, making it a must-see event.

Event founder and promoter, Simon Thoumire, said “A massive congratulations to all of our shortlisted nominees – we can’t wait to welcome them to Paisley for the ceremony. We want to say a huge thanks to everyone who has voted – with such a wealth of amazing Trad talent in Scotland, we’re sure it wasn’t an easy task.  Hands Up for Trad are dedicated to showcasing the level of talent in this country, and the awards are a real highlight in the calendar each year. We can’t wait for an unmissable night of live music on Saturday 2 December – make sure you get involved!

Alan Morrison, Head of Music at Creative Scotland, added “At home and abroad, this has been a fantastic year for Scotland’s traditional music scene.  Our finest artists have had festival tents jumping and radio airwaves buzzing, winning awards and embracing new audiences everywhere they go.  Stars of the future have taken big leaps forward while the veterans who paved the way have enriched our culture even further. The sheer breadth of their talent is celebrated at the Scots Trad Music Awards, which Creative Scotland is delighted to support through Hands Up For Trad. Best of luck to all the nominees.”

Tickets are available now, and can be purchased by calling 0300 300 1210 or visiting They can also be bought directly from Paisley Arts Centre.

Image - Elephant Sessions at Lorient courtesy of Creative Scotland website

Full list of nominees

Album of the Year sponsored by Birnam CDs

Afterlight by Ímar
All We Have Is Now by Elephant Sessions
An Dà Là - The Two Days by Mànran
An Dàn - Gaelic Songs for a Modern World by Mary Ann Kennedy
Bere by Saltfishforty
Fiddle + Guitar by Ross Couper + Tom Oakes
Mac Ile by The Islay Sessioners
Room with a View by Old Blind Dogs
Ryan Young by Ryan Young
Strata by Siobhan Miller

Community Project of the Year sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust

EPL events (Angus)
SCaT (Aberdeen)
Fun Fiddle (Edinburgh)
Tiree Songbook

Composer of the Year sponsored by PRS for Music

Adam Sutherland
Ailie Robertson
Lauren MacColl
Angus MacPhail
Aidan O’Rourke

Live Act of the Year sponsored by Greentrax Recordings

Elephant Sessions
Tide Lines

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association

Hannah Rarity
Iona Fyfe
Siobhan Miller
Claire Hastings
Blue Rose Code

Up and Coming Artist Award sponsored by Royal Scottish Conservatoire

Heron Valley
Brighde Chaimbeul

Music Tutor of the Year sponsored by Creative Scotland

Emma Tomlinson
Keith Dickson
Dave Martin
James Alexander
Pippa Reid-Foster

Gaelic Singer of the Year sponsored by Macmeanmna

Mary Ann Kennedy
Alasdair Whyte
Calum Alex MacMillan
Robert Robertson

Folk Band of the Year sponsored by Threads of Sound

Josie Duncan and Pablo Lafuente
Routes Quartet

Dance Band of the Year sponsored by National Association of Box and Fiddle Clubs

Duncan Black Band
James Coutts Scottish Dance Band
John Carmichael Ceilidh Band
David Halcrow Band

Scottish Pipe Band of the Year sponsored by The Glenturret Single Malt Whisky

Inveraray & District Pipe Band
Royal Mail Burgh of Annan Pipe Band
Lochalsh Junior Pipe Band
Dollar Academy Pipe Band

Club of the Year sponsored by Tradition Arts and Culture Scotland

Edinburgh Folk Club
Arc Sessions (Fochabers)
Clydesdale Accordion Club (Lanark)
Campsie Accordion & Fiddle Club

Instrumentalist of the Year sponsored by Royal Scottish Country Dance Society

Jennifer Wrigley
Roisin Ann Hughes
Paul Anderson
Gary Innes
Maeve Gilchrist

Event of the Year sponsored by VisitScotland

Killin Music Festival
International Harp Festival (Edinburgh)
Oban Live
A Night For Angus (Shooglenifty at Celtic Connections)
Wind Resistance (Karine Polwart)

Trad Music in the Media sponsored by Skipinnish

BBC Radio nan Gaidheal A' Mire ri Mòir
BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards
Seirm (Bees Nees Media)

Venue of the Year sponsored by Musicians' Union

An Lanntair (Stornoway)
Tolbooth (Stirling)
Knoydart Community Hall
Glassel Hall (Aberdeenshire)

Powered by Blogger.