News - Stranger Things Soundtrack Confirmed

The official release dates for the soundtrack albums from Stranger Things have been announced and there's not long to wait...

Stranger Things, the nostalgia-filled hit Netflix series, has quickly become a favourite over on our twin site at /Garbage-file and the soundtrack album has been eagerly anticipated. The good news is that it will come out in not one but two instalments, this Friday and next, with both volumes featuring the original score by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, half of the members of experimental synth band S U R V I V E. Stranger Things marks the official scoring debut for the Austin-based musicians, although a couple of their songs were previously licensed for the Adam Wingard-directed thriller The Guest. S U R V I V E’s own second full-length album RR7349 will be released on September 30th on Relapse.

When asked about Stranger Things, Kyle Dixon said "The directors were previously fans of S U R V I V E. They used a song from our first LP in a trailer they made to pitch their concept to Netflix. Once the show was picked up, they reached out to see if we were available to score the show.” Michael Stein added, “We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn't ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked but with an overall forward thinking approach."

The first volume of the soundtrack will be available digitally this Friday (12th), and on CD on September 16th. The second will be released digitally a week later than the first on August 19th and on CD on September 23rd.

Stranger Things, Volume 1 Track List

1. "Stranger Things"
2. "Kids"
3. "Nancy and Barb"
4. "This Isn't You"
5. "Lay-Z-Boy"
6. "Friendship"
7. "Eleven"
8. "A Kiss"
9. "Castle Beyers"
10. "Hawkins"
11. "The Upside Down"
12. "After Sarah"
13. "One Blink For Yes"
14. "Photos in the Woods"
15. "Fresh Blood"
16. "Lamps"
17. "Hallucinations"
18. "Hanging Lights"
19. "Biking to School"
20. "Are You Sure?"
21. "Agents"
22. "Papa"
23. "Cops Are Good at Finding"
24. "No Weapons"
25. "Walking Through the Nether"
26. "She'll Kill You"
27. "Run Away"
28. "No Autopsy"
29. "Dispatch"
30. "Joyce and Lonnie Fighting"
31. "Lights Out"
32. "Hazmat Suits"
33. "Theoretically"
34. "You Can Talk to Me"
35. "What Else Is There to Do?"
36. "Hawkins Lab"
Image - Stranger Things Facebook page.

Listen to "A.H.B." from RR7349 by S U R V I V E below.

Powered by Blogger.