News - The Invention of Knowledge

Anderson Stolt

Jon Anderson & Roine Stolt team up for The Invention Of Knowledge...

Anderson / Stolt, the brand new duo of legendary Yes vocalist & singer/songwriter Jon Anderson, also known for his  Jon & Vangelis collaborations, and progressive rock veteran Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings, Transatlantic), have announced the release of their own collaborative album The Invention Of Knowledge for 24th June 2016 via InsideOut Music.

Jon Anderson announced the album on his Facebook page saying “I worked with Roine Stolt, a very wonderful guitar player and producer who lives in Sweden, the songs I chose for the project were written with people from around the world..all via the internet, I feel that the world is the new studio, music whichever way it is created is from the heart and the don't need to be in the same room, as long as you are on the same planet, then all is good..which reminds me of a joke Rick Wakeup says in his show, ''Jon is the only guy I know trying to save this planet while living on another'', I love that!!"

Roine Stolt added “It is not aiming at being new Yes music; just new music, modern and classical, rock and ethno, tribal and orchestrated, grooving and floating. Hopefully in the true spirit of “progressive” - leaning forward, surprising and also comforting with familiar run-arounds. We’ve been “inventing” as we go along - Jon is an endless source of new ideas. We’ve been bouncing ideas back and forth for months and as a result there are probably dozens of versions of these songs. It’s been a very interesting and rewarding time and the result is just insanely detailed.”

InsideOut label-head Thomas Waber comments: “I have been talking to Jon for ages about making an album of ‘Yes music’ – as Jon calls it - and Roine seemed like the perfect guy for him to work with. I am really happy that it has finally happened and I am also thrilled with the material they have come up with. I think it will please a lot of fans!”

The idea came to life swiftly off the back of a performance from Roine’s band Transatlantic, and Jon Anderson on the Progressive Nation At Sea Cruise in 2014, and was initially instigated by InsideOut Music label boss Thomas Waber. The duo set about crafting new music in the spirit of early epic works such as Tales From Topographic Oceans, Awaken & Olias Of Sunhillow, but giving it a modern twist. Written & recorded over the course of 1 and a half years, the tracks have been in a state of constant change as Roine and Jon swapped & refined ideas by sending tracks to each other via the internet. In March 2015, an ensemble was put together by Roine to realise the music live in the studio. Joining him there was Tom Brislin (who played on the Yes Symphonic tour) & Lalle Larsson on keys, Jonas Reingold & Michael Stolt on bass and Felix Lehrmann on drums. The sessions were also bolstered by appearances from Daniel Gildenlöw, Nad Sylvan, Anja Obermayer, Maria Rerych and Kristina Westas who all provided backing vocals.

The full track-listing for the album is as follows (yes there's only 4 tracks and yes that's how long each of them are):

Knowing 17:45
Everybody Heals 13:20
Invention Of Knowledge 23:10
Know 11.20

Image & info -
Powered by Blogger.